Skip to main content
Sign In

Department of Pediatrics Newsroom

The Latest Research, Community and Medical News Updates


Department of Pediatrics Ranked No. 4 in Nation

The University of Colorado's Department of Pediatrics was ranked fourth in the nation for "Best Pediatrics Programs" by U.S. News & World Report.

Abman Wins Avery Neonatal Research Award

​​Steven H. Abman, MD, was recently named the 2016 Mary Ellen Avery Neonatal Research Award recipient.

Newman Receives Fellow of the American College of Critical Care Medicine Award

Christopher D. Newman, PA-C, received the “Fellow of the American College of Critical Care Medicine” award recently at the annual Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) congress.

Children’s Colorado Doctors Groundbreaking Trip to Cuba

Children’s Hospital Colorado Doctors take Groundbreaking Trip to Cuba

Study Points to More Individualized Treatment for Diabetes

Recent study points to more individualized treatment approaches for youth with onset type 2 diabetes.

Total Commitment to Underserved Children

Dr. Federico not only speaks Spanish, she is also dedicated to helping underserved populations get access to care. She started her career torn between studying social work or medicine, and in many ways she’s managed to combine the two.

New Bioscience 2 Building

Building boasts bio-bank, genetic-testing lab, cutting-edge research equipment and easy access to clinicians and faculty at CU Anschutz.

Sussel Named BDC Research Director

Lori Sussel, PhD, has been named Director of the Basic and Translational Research Division at the Barbara Davis Center for Childhood Diabetes.

Doctors Reject Unvaccinated Kids

One in five pediatricians dismiss families who refuse to vaccinate their children, according to findings published today in the journal Pediatrics and based on research by faculty from CU SOM.

Bioengineering: Rankings Go Up, Program Takes Advantage of Anschutz Medical Campus Affiliation

Robin Shandas, PhD, said CU Denver and the CU Anschutz Medical Campus provide students with unprecedented resources to advance human health by combining bioengineering instruction with health-oriented research and clinical opportunities.

Buckley, Pharo, Rosenberg, Sokol Recipients of Career Teaching Scholars Award

The Department of Pediatrics announced the recipients of the Career Teaching Scholars Award for 2015. Congratulations to Jerry Buckley, MD; Susan Pharo, MD; Adam Rosenberg, MD; Ron Sokol, MD.

Travers named Kerr Family Endowed Chair

Sharon Travers, MD, Associate Professor of Pediatrics at the University of Colorado School of Medicine, was named the inaugural Ed and Jeannette Kerr Family Endowed Chair in Endocrinology.

CU Researchers Offer Safer, Lower-Cost Procedure For Children With Digestive Tract Problems

Physicians at the University of Colorado School of Medicine on the Anschutz Medical Campus have published research that suggests a safe and lower-cost way to diagnose and treat problems in the upper gastrointestinal tract of children.

Strain Promoted to Distinguished Clinical Professor

James E. Strain, MD, has been promoted to Distinguished Clinical Professor in the Department of Pediatrics. This is the highest level of a clinical faculty rank, which is awarded to an outstanding clinician, advocate, and teacher.

Children's Hospital Colorado Ranks No. 5 in U.S. News & World Report 2015-16 Honor Roll

Children's Hospital Colorado was ranked No. 5 in the 2015-16 Best Children's Hospitals Honor Roll by U.S. News & World Report.