Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Department Leadership

​The Department of Medicine (DOM) boasts an excellent leadership team comprised of the Department Chair, Executive Vice Chair, eight Vice Chairs, and the Department Administrator. In addition to Department leadership there is also an outstanding Divisional Leadership team as well as a Department Administration team.


David​ A. Schwartz, MD
Department of Medicine Chair

View Dr. Schwartz's CV or profile

Contact Dr. Schwartz's Executive Assistants:
Nancy Miller or Kelly Redard​








Cara Wilson, MD
Executive Vice Chair

View Dr. Wilson's CV

Contact Dr. Wilson's Administrative Assistant: 
Elle Herner 


Richard Albert, MD
Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs

View Dr. Albert's CV​​



Penny Archuleta, MA
Associate Chair, Faculty Advancement
Director, Faculty Advancement Office​​



Greg Austin, MD, MPH

Vice Chair for Regional Clinical Affairs





Corena Carmichael, CPA
Director of Finance and ​Administration

Sonia C. Flores, PhD
Vice Chair for Diversity and Justice
View Dr. Flores' CV

Michael Ho, MD, PhD
Vice Chair for Quality
View Dr. Ho's CV



Craig T. Jordan, PhD
Vice Chair for Basic Research
View Dr. Jordan's CV​



Ali Musani, MD
Vice Chair for Global Health

View Dr. Musani's CV


Affiliate Department Chairs: 

Edward Havranek, MD, MS
Department of Medicine, Denver Health
View Dr. Havranek's profile
James Beck, MD
Department of Medicine, VA Eastern Colorado Health Care System
Vice Chair for Veterans Affairs
View Dr. Beck's profile
Richard Martin, MD
Department of Medicine, National Jewish Health
View Dr. Martin's profile