Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Physicians honored for efforts to provide care to poor patients

​For their commitment to the health of their communities and humanitarian efforts to provide care to vulnerable populations, several physicians received Excellence in Medicine Awards from the AMA Foundation at the 2017 AMA Annual Meeting in Chicago.
Two Florida physicians, David M. Klein, MD, and James N. Burt, MD, received the AMA Foundation’s Award for Excellence in Volunteerism. A Colorado physician and medical educator, Jennifer E. Adams, MD, earned the Dr. Debasish Mrdiha Spirit of Medicine Award for the Selfless Elimination of Human Suffering.
The awards were bestowed June 9 as part of the Excellence in Medicine program at the Annual Meeting. The program was made possible, in part, through the support of Pfizer Inc., the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America and Novo Nordisk Inc.