Skip to main content
Sign In


Scholarship is integral to robust medical education. As part of their training, residents participate in a variety of academic exercises to help lay the foundation for their future as a peer and patient educator.  Journal Club Classics is a didactic peer education project that identifies the key articles shaping the practice of  Medicine. Residents critically appraise each one of these selected articles and lead a discussion with their peers and faculty members regarding its impact and legacy. Residents also give a yearly peer teaching didactic presentation on a relevant outpatient topic to peers and faculty in their continuity clinic.  Additionally, all residents must complete a scholarly work during the second and third year of training.  This may be a research abstract, an oral presentation given at a local or national meeting, a published or submitted manuscript, or a clinical vignette about an interesting case.  Our residents achieve significant success in these activities, including awards at local, state and national meetings. Residents who are invited to present at the ACP meeting are supported by the Department of Medicine.

The Do No Harm Project​

The goal of the Do No Harm Project​ is to use clinical vignettes written by trainees to improve recognition of harms that may result from medical overuse and to drive a needed culture change in the practice of medicine

Winners in the past year:

Carrie Evavold “Cancer Screening”

Caroline Tredway “The Perils of Medication Overuse Headache”

Trey Sertich “Hypnotic Overuse”

Hrishikesh Belani “To CT or not to CT: Anaphylaxis secondary to IV contrast”


DNHP vignette published in JAMA Internal Medicine’s Teachable Moments Series (current and former residents)

Kenneth Hung

Jennifer Weiskopf

Allison Wolfe

Pai Liu

Mysha Mason

Joseph Roberts

Meredith Neiss

Ed Murphy

Austin Lammers

2016 Ambulatory Award recipients:

  • Anschutz Ambulatory Award – Dr. Roxana Naderi
  • The Dave Tanaka Award Winner for outstanding primary care resident at Lowry – Dr. Karen Schmitz
  • Westside Resident Clinic Award  – Dr. Hrishi Belani
  • Eastside Ambulatory Award – Dr. Sarah Wirth
  • Holly Batal Outstanding Resident Ambulatory Award (Webb) – Dr. Julie Knoeckel
  • VA Continuity Clinic Resident award – Dr. Nicholas Gorden
  • Uptown Primary Care Triple Aim Award – Dr. Drew Bolton and Dr. Laura Sherman in 2016, Dr. Branden Comfort was the 2015 award winner

2016 ACP Associates meeting winners:

·         Oral presentations- 2nd place Mariah Hoffman , 4th Place Mark Kissler
·         Clinical Vignette Posters- 1st place Avash Kalra, 3rd place Erin Armenia

2016 ACP Associates Meeting Presentations:

Oral Presentations

Extramedullary Multiple Myeloma with Rare Involvement of Testis 

Ethan Bornstein, MD

Angela Budgin, MD

University of Colorado


A Case of Fulminant Meningococcemia:  It’s All in the Complement 

Mariah Hoffman, MD

Kellie Hawkins, MD

University of Colorado


Delayed Discharge:  Transient Global Amnesia in the Hospital 

Mark Kissler, MD 

Hrishikesh Belani, MD

Patrick Ryan, MD

University of Colorado


Planting the Seed:  A Case of Hemoptysis Grows into a Surprise Diagnosis

Karen Schmitz, MD 

Ashley Ullrich, MD

University of Colorado


Poster Presentations:

Amlodipine Related Leukocytoclastic Vasculitis 

Harpreet Kaur, MD

Erin Armenia, MD

University of Colorado


Methamphetamine-induced Colonic Heus 

David Cristin, MD, ACP 

Rachel Groff, MD, ACP 

University of Colorado


It is not just in the Patient’s Head 

Aaron Strobel, MD

University of Colorado


Pseudoseptic Arthritis:  An Unusual Presentation 

Avash Kalra, MD

Jennifer To, BA

Jennifer Stichman, MD, FACR 

University of Colorado