Skip to main content
Sign In

Chairman's Welcome


Dr. Schwartz

The Department of Medicine at the University of Colorado consists of almost 850 regular faculty across its 15 Divisions. The Department has close educational and academic affiliations with several medical facilities and two private hospitals in the HealthOne system (Presbyterian/St. Luke’s and Rose). The Department is proud of its rich tradition of excellence in research, clinical care and, especially of our longstanding commitment to medical education.

The Department has a strong commitment to excellence in housestaff education and is committed to providing a dynamic, vibrant environment, responsive to the ever-changing face of medical education. Our housestaff have ample opportunities for not only superior general internal medicine, hospitalist, primary care and critical care education, but also for participation in care of underserved populations, basic and translational research and international health care.


The leadership of our Housestaff Training program features several individuals at all stages of their careers that collectively represent more than 50 years of housestaff educational experience. Our Internal Medicine Residency Training Program is directed by Geoffrey Connors.  Geoff was recently recruited from Yale University, where he was serving as an Associate Program Director of the Internal Medicine Residency Program.  He received his undergraduate degree from the University of Michigan, went to medical school at Tulane University, and completed his residency and chief residency in Internal Medicine at the University of Colorado.  He trained in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at Johns Hopkins and during that time was engaged in research in autoimmune lung disease.  Geoff has been at Yale since 2011 and has served as the Associate Director of the Medical ICU, has developed two courses in the medical school focused on clinical decision making, and has helped create a new resident mentoring program.  Geoff was named Teacher of the Year by the Yale Internal Medicine Residents in 2013 and 2016 and received the Francis Gilman Blake Award for Education from the Yale School of Medicine in 2015.  We are confident that Dr. Connors will continue our strong commitment to train future leaders in medicine and build on the many strengths in our program. 
He is assisted by nine associate Program Directors​ including: 

        ·       Mel Anderson 


·       Karen Chacko


·       Dan Heppe


·       Mark Kearns


·       Brian Graham


·       Katie Suddarth


·       Lisa Davis

·       Julia Limes

·       Emily Gottenborg


·       Arthur Gutierrez-Hartmann, Director, Physician Scientist Training Program 


·       Karen Shea, Leader, Housestaff Diversity Program



David A. Schwartz, MD
Chairman of Medicine

Link to the Department of Medicine Home Page