Skip to main content
Sign In

Educational Committee

Mission of the Educational Committee



The Cardiology Education Committee was established in 2002 to assure educational goals are met within the Fellowship Training Program. This will be accomplished by reviewing routine lecture conferences to assure that information provided is topical and meets the educational requirements for the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education for Cardiology Fellowship Training Program. It is also the goal of this committee to assure information provided assists trainees in their preparation for board eligibility and for a career principally in academic and research cardiovascular medicine.

This mission will be accomplished with continued dialogue with Cardiology Fellows and close monitoring of conference formats. Additionally, the CORE Lectures and Introduction to Cardiology Lectures will be directed by key committee members with changes in curriculum to assure lectures provided meet the “training expectations.” This committee will conduct a yearly written survey to all fellows in training. Results will be blinded to assure optimal input and review by the committee to make recommendations in teaching changes as are appropriate.

The committee members shall include but not be limited to the Cardiology Fellowship Training Director, the Electrophysiology Fellowship Training Director and Specialty Fellow, the Interventional Fellowship Training Director and Specialty Fellow, the Cardiology Education Program Administrative Director, and the current Blount Fellow. Other committee members shall include various key Cardiology Faculty who are actively engaged in serving as medical directors for various conferences or represent vital areas of teaching parameters to fellows. The Division Head will appoint the Committee Chair or Co-Chairs for an unlimited term.


Committee Chair & Fellowship Program Directors, Coordinator:

Frederick Masoudi, MD, MPH - Committee Chair
Andreas Brieke, MD - Program Director/ Advanced Heart Failure Fellowship
Peter Buttrick, MD  - Program Director/ Cardiovascular Disease
John Messenger, MD - Program Director/ Interventional Cardiology
William Sauer, MD - Program Director / Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology
Holly Ables - Education & Fellowship Coordinator/ Cardiology Programs

Conference & Associate Program Directors:

Larry Allen, MD - Associate Program Director/ Advanced Heart Failure Fellowship
Stacie Daugherty, MD - Director/ Cardiology Grand Rounds
Joseph Kay, MD - Associate Program Director/ Cardiovascular Disease
JoAnn Lindenfeld, MD - Member at large
Thomas Maddox, MD - Director/ Cardiology Journal Club
Duy Nguyen, MD - EKG Course Director
Pamela Peterson, MD - Associate Program Director/ Cardiovascular Disease
Jonathan David Port, PhD. - Director/ Cardiology Research Conference
Robert Quaife, MD - Director/ Cardiac Imaging Conference
Ernesto Salcedo, MD - Director/ ECHO Conference
Gregory Schwartz, MD, PhD. - Associate Program Director/ Cardiovascular Disease
Brian Stauffer, MD - CORE Lecture Series for Fellows

Fellow Positions on Committee:

Current Fellow –Advanced Heart Failure
Chief Fellow –Cardiovascular Disease
Current Fellow –Cardiac Clinical Electrophysiology
Current Fellow –Interventional Cardiology