Skip to main content
Sign In

Welcome to the Integrated Department of Immunology at the University of Colorado - School of Medicine and National Jewish Health.

Immunology Banner Image

John Kappler PhD

Professor of Immunology, Medicine and Pharmacology; HHMI Investigator

 John Kappler



Education: Brandeis University-PhD, Biochemistry, 1970, Lehigh University-BA, Chemistry, 1965
Fellowships: University of California at SanDiego, Department of Biology, 1971-1973
Phone: 303-398-1322
Dr. Kappler's National Jewish Health webpage

Atopic Dermatitis, Autoimmunity/Rheumatology, Basic Immunology, Cancer, Chronic Beryllium Disease, Genetics, Immunobiology, Molecular Immunology, Type-1 Diabetes, Structural Biology 
  • Yang B, Gay DL, Macleod MK, Cao X, Hala T, Sweezer EM, Kappler J, Marrack P, Oliver PM. Nedd4 augments the adaptive immune response by promoting ubiquitin-mediated degradation of Cbl-b in activated T cells. Nat Immunol. 2008 Dec;9(12):1356-63.
  • MacLeod MK, McKee A, Crawford F, White J, Kappler J, Marrack P. CD4 memory T cells divide poorly in response to antigen because of their cytokine profile. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2008 Sep 23;105(38):14521-6.
  • Clambey ET, White J, Kappler JW, Marrack P. Identification of two major types of age-associated CD8 clonal expansions with highly divergent properties. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2008 Sep 2;105(35):12997-3002.
  • Dai S, Crawford F, Marrack P, Kappler JW. The structure of HLA-DR52c: comparison to other HLA-DRB3 alleles. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2008 Aug 19;105(33):11893-7.
  • Marrack P, Rubtsova K, Scott-Browne J, Kappler JW. T cell receptor specificity for major histocompatibility complex proteins. Curr Opin Immunol. 2008 Apr;20(2):203-7.

Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize, Columbia University
Bonfils-Stanton Foundation Award in Science and Medicine
National Jewish Health Lifetime Achievement Award
Advisory Editor, Journal of Immunology
Ad hoc member NIH Transplantation Biology and Immunology Committee
Damon Runyon Foundation for Cancer Research Fellowship Review Committee