Skip to main content
Sign In
 

Abdominal Imaging


 

Mission

Our mission in the Abdominal Imaging section at the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus is to provide exceptional Abdominal Imaging services including radiography, fluoroscopy, ultrasound, computed tomography (CT), and magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). Our section focuses on all aspects of Abdominal Imaging, with primary areas of emphasis including, but not limited to, oncology, transplant and critical care imaging.

 

Patient Care

The Abdominal Imaging section is staffed by full and part-time, fellowship trained Abdominal/Body Imagers and one Fluoroscopy specialist. The Division performs/interprets all routine and emergency cross sectional (ultrasound, CT and MRI) abdominal imaging, and all GI/GU fluoroscopy procedures as well. Along with daily clinical work, the Division participates in multiple weekly/monthly multidisciplinary conferences (e.g. Pancreas Clinic, Liver Clinic, Colorectal Clinic, GU Tumor, Gyn Tumor, Hepato-biliary, Thyroid) and discuss the diagnosis and management of the patients.

Education

Our section participates in the Gastrointestinal, Genitourinary and Ultrasound core lecture series, provides three, monthly scheduled didactic case conferences and a daily Divisional case conference for Residents rotating on our three services (Fluoroscopy, Ultrasound and Abdominal CT/MR). A new formal orientation/evaluation process aids residents as they rotate on our services. Our fellowship program trains at least motivated individuals per year in more advanced imaging interpretation/techniques and provides opportunities for research in Abdominal Imaging. Third and fourth-year Medical Students rotate through the Abdominal Imaging section.

 

Research

Abdominal Imaging faculty members are actively involved in multiple research projects, publishing peer reviewed articles and abstracts, book chapters and presenting at regional, national and international meetings. A partial list of ongoing projects includes: A Prospective, Multicenter Comparison of Multiphase Contrast-Enhanced CT and Multiphase Contrast-Enhanced MRI for Diagnosis of Hepatocellular Carcinoma for Liver Transplant Allocation, MRI Guided Interstitial Laser Ablation of Prostate Cancer, Exploring Perinatal Outcomes Among Children (EPOCH), and Development and Testing of a Volumetric Color Doppler Vascular Index to Predict the Performance of Radiofrequency Ablation Devices in Liver Tumor​s.​

 

Abdominal Imaging Faculty

Photo
Section Chief
jeffrey.maki@ucdenver.edu
Featured Provider Photo Chang, Samuel samuel.chang@ucdenver.edu
Featured Provider Photo Clark, Toshi toshimasa.clark@ucdenver.edu
Featured Provider Photo Davidson, James james.davidson@ucdenver.edu
Featured Provider Photo Dodd, Gerald gerald.dodd@ucdenver.edu
Featured Provider Photo Garg, Kavita kavita.garg@ucdenver.edu
Featured Provider Photo McKinney, Kristin mckinney.kristin@ucdenver.edu
Featured Provider Photo Meier, Jeffrey jeffrey.meier@ucdenver.edu
Featured Provider Photo Patel, Nayana nayana.patel@ucdenver.edu
Featured Provider Photo Rumack, Carol carol.rumack@ucdenver.edu
Photo Sheridan, Alison alison.sheridan@ucdenver.edu