Skip to main content
Sign In

We are a nationally recognized department of Ophthalmology.

Othamology Banner Image

Training Opportunities

Dr. Petrash with Student
Dr. Petrash working with a student

Positions for graduate and postdoctoral research training become available on occasion. 

  • Doctoral Research Training integrates with existing programs on the UC Denver campus. Individuals  interested in Ph.D. training should apply directly to their program of choice in the UC Denver system.  Thesis research training emphasizes creativity, research independence, and development of written and oral communication skills.
  • Postdoctoral training positions will be posted as openings become available. In addition to bench research training, emphasis in post-doctoral training will include career and grant strategies, time and resource management, and communication skill development.
  • One medical student research position is available annually. Interested students should contact Dr. Petrash no later than November of MS1 in order to be eligible for the formalized training program operated through the medical school. Please visit our medical student research program to learn more.


Medical Students

Joseph Adewumi

Jose Diego

Anson Snow

Charles Johnson


Doctoral Students

Gary Chang, M.S. - Toxicology

Tatiana Eliseeva - Neuroscience

Post-Doctoral Fellows

2013 - Niklaus Mueller, Ph.D.
Current Position: Insructor, University of Colorado Department of Ophthalmology

2010 - Arttatrana Pal, Ph.D.
Current Position: Assistant Professor, KIIT University, Odisha, India

2009 - Suryanarayan Palla, Ph.D.
Current Position: Scientist, National Institute of Nutrition, Hyderabad, India


Medical Students

2011 - Gregory Zablocki, M.D.

2013 - Karen Christopher, M.D.