Skip to main content
Sign In

Welcome Message

from Dr. Vesna Todorovic, Professor & Chair and Dr. Tony Oliva, Assistant Professor & Program Director

The Department of Anesthesiology is an independent department within one of the three campuses of the University of Colorado. The Health Sciences Center is now located at our new Anschutz Medical Campus in Aurora. Our affiliate hospitals are the University of Colorado Hospital, The Children's Hospital, Denver Health Medical Center, and the Denver Veterans Affairs Medical Center.

The Department offers a four-year residency, approved by the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) and the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). In addition, the Department offers advanced fellowship training in anesthetic subspecialties such as Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology, Pediatric Anesthesiology, Pain Management, and Anesthesia Research at the University of Colorado Hospital and The Children's Hospital. The Department has also developed post-doctoral research fellowships that take advantage of the university's post-graduate clinician-scientist training program. To help encourage residents entering our program consider a research-oriented academic career, we offer the Robert W. Virtue Research Scholarship to a CA-1 resident each year.

Our faculty works to create an exciting academic environment that builds upon what was already recognized as one of the finest residency programs in the country. We have recruited the highest caliber faculty from top academic centers across the country (University of Pennsylvania, Columbia, Cornell, UCSF, University of Chicago, Harvard, Johns Hopkins to name a few) to drive programs in research and virtually every area of clinical care. Whether your interests in our Department are to practice anesthesiology, perioperative care, pain medicine, do research, or teach, this website is a good place to start.​