Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

First CU MD Students Train in Colorado Springs

CU School of Medicine


Colorado Springs, Colo.  – Today, 22 students from the CU School of Medicine Class of 2018 begin their core third-year clinical training in hospitals and clinic facilities across the Colorado Springs community, including Pueblo and Canon City. 

The Colorado Springs Branch (CSB) is the first regional branch for the School of Medicine, based on the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus in Aurora. Students in the Branch complete their first two years of medical school in Aurora and then complete their clinical experiences in Southern Colorado as part of a Longitudinal Integrated Clerkship model. Students will learn to become 21st Century physician leaders who will integrate with interprofessional health care delivery teams to deliver high-quality, cost-conscious, and patient-centered care to the patients.

The Lane Center for Academic Health Sciences on the UCCS campus serves as the administrative home for the CSB. Students will learn at Memorial Hospital, part of UCHealth, which provides funding for the CSB, as well as at Penrose Hospital and St. Francis Medical Center, Evans Army Community Hospital, the Colorado Mental Health Institute at Pueblo, the VA’s PFC Floyd K. Lindstrom Outpatient Clinic at Colorado Springs, and dozens of other medical groups in Colorado Springs and Canon City.

A community reception to welcome the students will be held 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. Friday, April 29, at the Ivywild School, co-sponsored by the El Paso County Medical Society.

For questions, please contact Dr. Erik Wallace, Associate Dean for Colorado Springs Branch, at 

See coverage in: