Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Executive Search

School of Medicine

In January, Dean Richard D. Krugman, MD, announced his desire to step down as the dean of the School of Medicine (SOM) after 23 years in the position. Executive search firm Spencer Stuart will assist in the search for his replacement.

Candidate Finalists 
Three finalists have been identified in the SOM Dean/Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs search from a distinguished group of applicants.
Finalist Dr. John Reilly visited campus Oct. 27-28.  Dr. Reilly is currently with the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, serving as the Jack D. Myers Professor and Chair, Department of Medicine.  See Dr. Reilly’s Curriculum Vitae and Cover Letter for more information about his qualifications and interest in the SOM Dean/Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs position. Dr. Reilly spoke to the CU Anschutz Faculty and others at an open forum on Oct. 27.   Listen to the recording here
The first finalist, Dr. Robert Harrington, visited campus Oct. 13-14.  Dr. Harrington is currently with the  Stanford University School of Medicine and is the Arthur L. Bloomfield Professor and Chair in the Department of Medicine. See Dr. Robert Harrington's Curriculum Vitae and Cover Letter​ for more information.
On Oct. 13, Dr. Harrington spoke to the CU Anschutz faculty and others. Listen to the recording here 
For questions about this link, please contact Ryan Wiest, University Communications, at 303-724-8113.

Anyone who met with Dr. Harrington or Dr. Reilly during their respective campus visits, Oct. 13-14 and Oct. 27-28, who would like to provide feedback, please see the evaluation form for Dr. Harrington and the evaluation form for Dr. Reilly.  These forms were also sent directly to all groups and individuals who met with the first two finalists. 

Dates for the third finalist are not yet confirmed.

Search Committee
  • Chairman Dean David Goff, MD, PhD, Colorado School of Public Health (See a statement from the chair)
  • Brenda Allen, PhD, Associate Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Inclusion
  • Joan Bothner, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Children’s Hospital Colorado (CHCO); Professor of Pediatrics and Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs at CHCO, SOM
  • Peter Buttrick, MD,  Division Head, Cardiology SOM
  • Robin Deterding, MD, Director of Breathing Institute, Children's Hospital Colorado (CHCO); Professor, Pediatrics-Pulmonary, SOM 
  • Mark Johnston, PhD, Professor and Chair, Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, SOM
  • Todd T. Kingdom, MD, FACS, Professor, Otolaryngology, SOM
  • Phil Mehler, MD, FACEP, Chief Clinical Operations Officer, Denver Health (DHHA); Professor and Associate Dean, SOM
  • Judy Regensteiner, PhD, Founder/Director, Center for Women's Health Research; Professor, Dept. of Medicine, SOM
  • E. Chester (Chip) Ridgway, MD, Executive Vice Chair, Dept of Medicine; Distinguished Professor and Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, SOM
  • Rich Schulick, MD, MBA, Professor and Chair, Surgery, SOM (GI Tumor & Endocrine Surgery)
  • Jane Schumaker, Senior Associate Dean for Admininistration & Finance, SOM; and Executive Director, University Physicians, Inc.
  • Sarah Thompson, PhD, RN,  Dean, College of Nursing
  • Rich Zane, MD, Professor and Chair, Emergency Medicine, SOM 
  • Carolyn Goble, Staff, Chancellor's Office