Skip to main content
Sign In

From the Dean

January 2014

Dear Faculty, Staff and Students,

I know that everyone is immersed in the semester’s activities. For those of you who took the opportunity last week to attend the Rocky Mountain Dental Convention, I hope that you found it valuable. I want to thank our faculty who made presentations and all who helped staff the school’s booth in the Community Pavilion near the Exhibition Hall. I also want to give a special thanks to all who attended, supported and staffed our major alumni event, Why Not at the Wynkoop – we had our largest alumni turnout ever!

There is so much good work occurring at the school, so much information to share, that we are rethinking our frequency and style of communication. Our communications team has revamped our newsletter and will begin making significant updates to our website. Our goal is to better tell our story and share information internally and externally.

I want to introduce someone who will interact with many of us, but who is housed in the University’s Center advancement office in Building 500. Her name is Kathryn Callahan and she will work with me and our Senior Director Lyndsey Crum to raise funds for many school priorities, from scholarships and pipeline programs, to endowed faculty chairs. When Kathryn contacts you, please share your knowledge of the school and the dental profession with her. Kathryn joins us with a background in medical fundraising at the University of California San Francisco School of Medicine.

I am also excited to tell you about something that has been in the works for several months. It is the Professionalism Task Force. The Task Force leaders will convene meetings faculty, staff and students to gain their input on professionalism documents that form the foundation of our new Professionalism Initiative. You may have friends and colleagues in the School of Medicine who have helped in the development of a set of professionalism plans and documents that serve as resources to the school – check on their website for more information. At this point, the faculty leaders of the Professionalism Task Force are Dr. Lonnie Johnson and Dr. John McDowell. The work products of the task force will be posted on our website as they are developed. 

I encourage you to check the website periodically for changes and improvements to the pages describing all of our mission areas. Let me close by thanking each of you for your various contributions to our increasingly complex environment. Despite our growing size, we need your continued engagement and contributions to keep CU smiling.


Denise Kassebaum, DDS, MS
Dean of the School of Dental Medicine 

© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.