Skip to main content
Sign In

University of Colorado Denver


Distinguished Service award winners



  • Jo Evans, Distinguished Service Award, long-time Environmental Lobbyist


  • Gilbert White, Lifetime Achievement Award, Professor Emeritus of Geography at the University of Colorado


  • Dan Luecke, Distinguished Service Award, Environmental Scientist
  • John Firor, Lifetime Achievement Award, former Head of NCAR and Internationally-Respected Climate Scientist


  • Susan Kirk, Lifetime Achievement Award, long-time Regent, University of Colorado
  • Joanne Ditmer, Lifetime Achievement Award, Columnist, Denver Post


  • Ed Marston, Distinguished Service Award, Writer and former Publisher, High Country News
  • Bert Melcher, Distinguished Service Award, long-time Environmental and Sustainable Transportation Advocate


  • David Schaller, Distinguished Service Award, served as the Sustainable Development Coordinator in the Denver Regional Office of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency since 1995. In addition to providing technical assistance to communities, businesses and governments within Region 8, he also presents nationally and in over 20 countries within Asia, Central America and Eastern Europe.
  • Ralph Curtis, Lifetime Achivement Award, a CU graduate, a varsity football player for four years and President of his Senior Class, served for 25 years as general manager for the Rio Grande Water Conservation District and is credited as a unifying force in the often fractious debate over water in the San Luis Valley. | Physical Address: 1380 Lawrence St., Ste. 500  Denver, CO  80204 | Mailing Address: University of Colorado Denver, SPA, Campus Box 142, P.O. Box 173364, Denver, CO 80217-3364 | ph: 303.315.2228 | fax: 303.315.2229 | SPA Website Feedback

University of Colorado Denver

© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.