Skip to main content
Sign In

University of Colorado Denver

School of Public Affairs


To complete the nonprofit concentration, you must successfully complete five courses within the concentration's curriculum in addition to the MPA required courses.  For the concentration, there are two required courses and three electives. The core consists of six classes that are required of all MPA students.  Also required is an Advanced Seminar course which is usually scheduled during your last semester.  The Advanced Seminar, or "Capstone" Project, is a client-based project overseen by a SPA faculty member.  The total degree is 12 courses (36 credit hours).

Two Required Nonprofit Courses

These two courses are required for all students pursuing the nonprofit concentration:

  • PUAD 5110 Seminar on Nonprofit Management
  • PUAD 5140 Nonprofit Financial Management

Plus three other elective courses from the list below or other courses approved by the director of the Nonprofit Management concentration, Professor Jessica Sowa.

  • PUAD 5120 Nonprofits and Public Policy
  • PUAD 5130 Collaboration across Sectors
  • PUAD 5150 Understanding and Achieving Funding Diversity
  • PUAD 5160 Nonprofit Boards and Executive Leadership
  • PUAD 5170 Strategic Management for Nonprofit and Public Managers
  • PUAD 5180 Social Entrepreneurship


All MPA students must complete the following common required core courses:

  • PUAD 5001 Introduction to Public Administration and Public Service
  • PUAD 5002 Organizational Management & Change
  • PUAD 5003 Research and Analytic Methods
  • PUAD 5004 Economics and Public Finance
  • PUAD 5005 Democracy and Policy Making
  • PUAD 5006 Leadership and Ethics | Physical Address: 1380 Lawrence St., Ste. 500  Denver, CO  80204 | Mailing Address: University of Colorado Denver, SPA, Campus Box 142, P.O. Box 173364, Denver, CO 80217-3364 | ph: 303.315.2228 | fax: 303.315.2229 | SPA Website Feedback

University of Colorado Denver

© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.