Skip to main content
Sign In

Strategic Planning

Defining our Strengths and Strategic Directions

The Colorado School of Public Health Strategic Planning Process that will chart our school’s future for the coming five years is now underway. We hope to complete the process no later than July 1, 2019.

The 12-person Steering Committee will represent the school's three campuses, its diverse disciplines and programs, and its faculty, staff, and students.  The Steering Committee will meet regularly throughout the strategic planning process.  The anticipated process will involve:

1) the development of an overall and accepted plan by the Steering Committee

2) implementation of working groups with foci determined by the Steering Committee through an open process

3) development of reports by the groups for communication to the school and revision after feedback

4) agreement on the final report and its recommendations  

Groups external to the school, e.g., the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, will be asked to provide input and representation may be sought for the Steering Committee. 

 Meet our members:

  • John Adgate, Environmental and Occupational Health
  • Chloe Bennion, Staff 
  • Kendra Bigsby, Colorado State University 
  • Cathy Bradley, Health Systems, Management and Policy
  • Martha Henze, MPH Student
  • John Hokanson, Epidemiology
  • Cerise Hunt, Center for Public Health Practice/Community and Behavioral Health 
  • John Kittelson, Biostatistics and Informatics
  • Molly Lamb, Center for Global Health/Epidemiology
  • Tracy Nelson, Colorado State University 
  • Lee Newman, Center for Health Work & Environment/Environmental and Occupational Health
  • Jini Puma, Community and Behavioral Health 
  • Teresa Sharp, University of Northern Colorado 
  • Anne Starling, LEAD/Epidemiology 
Working Groups: Working group leadership is comprised of many Steering Committee members:
  • Working Group 1:  Education: Co-leads Teresa Sharp and Molly Lamb, with Chloe Bennion as member
  • Working Group 2: Research: Co-leads Jini Puma and John Adgate, with Cathy Bradley and John Hokanson as members
  • Working Group 3: Public Health Practice:  Co-leads Lee Newman and Virginia Visconti
  • Working Group 4:  School Life and Diversity: Co-leads Cerise Hunt and Anne Starling, with Chloe Bennion, Mary Dinger, a student member (Martha Henze), Carolyn DiGuiseppi, and Dana Dabelea as members.
  • Working Group 5:  School as a Unit: Three co-leads, representing each campus: Dani Brittain, Tracy Nelson, and John Kittelson with Cathy Bradley and Jon Samet as members.​ 


Phase 1: Planning ( September - October, 2018)
Phase 2: Outreach and Engagement ( October - December 21, 2018)
Phase 3: Working Group activities and reports (January - March 2019)
Phase 4: Review and refinement of stragetic plan draft ( April - June, 2019)

Colorado School of Public Health

13001 E. 17th Place
Mail Stop B119
Aurora, CO 80045


© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.