Skip to main content
Sign In
Anschutz Medical Campus

Faculty Senate

School-wide faculty representation and governance

​The Faculty Senate* is the principal unit of faculty governance. Senat​e membership is comprised of a number of Voting Faculty representatives from each department within the School, proportional to the number of voting faculty within that unit relative to the total number of Voting Faculty in the School. Each representative will serves a 3 year term.

Members of the Voting Faculty at all partner and affiliated institutions are eligible for election as representatives to the Faculty Senate. Each Department’s representatives to the Faculty Senate is chosen so as to ensure that faculty holding tenure-track or tenure eligible and non tenure-track (clinical-teaching and research) primary appointments at the School are included. In addition, there is proportionate representation for each unit from the academic partners (CSU, UNC) and at least one faculty member at large from a public-health practice institution.

The Faculty Senate provides representation for the faculty of the School, including those based at the lead and partner institutions. The Council presents the issues and concerns of the faculty and seeks action when required; provides a representative group with which others can communicate issues or new initiatives to the faculty; makes recommendations to the Dean and Executive Council on matters of educational, scholarly, clinical, and designated administrative issues in the School -- with the exception of recommendations for faculty personnel actions, student promotions and honors, and student and faculty disciplinary actions.

All members of the 2018-2019 Senate include:

  • Angela Brega, PhD, Associate Professor, Community & Behavioral Health (President-Elect)
  • Carolyn DiGuiseppi, PhD, Associate Dean for Faculty and Professor, Epidemiology (non-voting)
  • Liz Gilbert, PhD, Associate Professor, Community & Behavioral Health (Community Health Education, UNC)
  • Kathy James, PhD, MSPH, MSCE, Assistant Professor, Environmental & Occupational Health​ (Secretary)
  • Robin Kimbrough-Melton, JD, Research Professor, Community & Behavioral Health
  • Greg Kinney, PhD, Research Assistant Professor, Epidemiology
  • Arnold Levinson, PhD, Associate Professor, Community & Behavioral Health
  • Sam MaWhinney, PhD, Professor, Biostatistics & Informatics
  • Bradyn Nicholson, MPH Student, ColoradoSPH at Colorado State University (non-voting)
  • Dominik Reinhold, Research Assistant Professor, Biostatistics & Informatics
  • Carol Runyan, PhD, Professor, Epidemiology
  • Jon Samet, MD, MS, Dean (non-voting)
  • Bruno Sobral, PhD, Professor, Biostatistics & Informatics and Director, One Health Institute at CSU (President)
  • Craig Trumbo, PhD, Professor, Community & Behavioral Health (Health Communication, CSU)
  • Greg Tung, PhD, Assistant Professor, Health Systems, Management & Policy
  • Nancy Whitesell, PhD, Professor, Community & Behavioral Health (Immediate Past President)




*Formerly titled Faculty Council, renamed with approval in 2012

Colorado School of Public Health

13001 E. 17th Place
Mail Stop B119
Aurora, CO 80045


© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.