Skip to main content
Sign In

Spero Manson, PhD 

Distinguished Professor

Spero M. Manson, PhD (Pembina Chippewa), is a Distinguished Professor of Public Health and Psychiatry and directs the Centers for American Indian and Alaska Native Health which includes 10 national centers engaging with 250 Native communities. Dr. Manson occupies The Colorado Trust Chair in American Indian Health within the Colorado School of Public Health at the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus​.

Dr. Manson currently serves on the National Advisory Council on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NACMHD) and is a member of the Tribal Collaboration Working Group of the NIH All of Us Research Program Advisory Panel. He has received prestigious awards from the American Public Health Association, the Indian Health Service, the Gerontological Society of America, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Society for Medical Anthropology, the Society for Applied Anthropology, and the National Institutes of Health (NIH). He is the recipient of the prestigious 2019 Bronislaw Malinowski Award for his lifetime commitment to understanding and serving the needs of society through social science. Dr. Manson is a member of the National Academy of Medicine and is widely acknowledged as one of the nation's leading authorities on Indian and Native health.

Research Interests:

  • Assessment, Epidemiology, Treatment, and Prevention of Physical, Alcohol, and Drug Abuse in Native American and Alaska Native Populations
  • Native American and Alaska Native Mental Health

Teaching Areas:
  • Psychiatric Assessment and Diagnosis
  • Epidemiology
  • Health Services
  • Preventive/Promotive Intervention
  • ​University of Minnesota, PhD, Anthropology, 1980
  • University of Minnesota, MA, Anthropology, 1975
  • University of Washington, BA, Anthropology, 1972

Colorado School of Public Health

13001 E. 17th Place
Mail Stop B119
Aurora, CO 80045


© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.