Skip to main content
Sign In

University of Colorado Denver


Student Organizations

Leadership, Engagement, Involvement

Student Groups

Colorado School of Public Health students can join organizations sponsored by the school or through our campus communities.

The School's Student Council is the primary student leadership organization devoted to serving as representatives of the school, developing relationships with community organizations, and involving students at all three campuses in public health related activities.  The Student Council also has the authority to formally recognize any newly formed student organization within the school.

Student Council

Goals of Student Council: Increase student involvement across 3 campuses; cultivate professional relationships with public health organizations in the community; and serve as liaisons and representatives of the student body to the CSPH faculty and staff, as well as to the larger University of Colorado.

Faculty Advisor: Jan Gascoigne, PhD

Delta Omega | Alpha Upsilon Chapter

The Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health was founded in 1924 at Johns Hopkins University within the School of Hygiene and Public Health (now known as the Bloomberg School of Public Health) by two graduate students, Dr. Edgar Erskine Hume and Dr. Claude W. Mitchell. At the time, public health as a profession was still in its infancy and, prior to the establishment of university-based education in public health, entrance into the field had been largely through practical experience and political favor. To promote the graduate study of the field, Dr. Hume and Dr. Mitchell organized this honorary society in order to recognize outstanding achievement in the new field. Over 80 years later, Delta Omega has expanded to more than 70 chapters throughout the world and has more than 14,000 members from top echelons of graduate schools and programs of public health, as well as the public health community. 

The Alpha Upsilon Chapter inducts eligible graduating students, faculty, alumni, and one honorary member each year. Induction occurs during the annual scholarship and awards reception. Members are signified by their salmon academic stoles worn during the annual school convocation.

Visit the National website

Chapter/Faculty President: Adam Atherly, PhD

Eta Sigma Gamma

Since its inception in 1967, Eta Sigma Gamma, the National Health Education Honorary, has had a rich history of contributions to the profession of health education and health promotion. The idea for a national honorary for health education professionals was conceived in the minds of three individuals, Warren E. Schaller, HSD, William Bock, BhD, and Robert J. Synovitz, HSD, on their way home from a national convention. It was through the further commitment of a group of dedicated professors and students at Ball State University that the first chapter of the honorary was established. Today, there are over eighty chapters representing thousands of students in colleges and universities around the United States, including the University of Northern Colorado.  

Visit the Chapter website | Visit the National Website

© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.