Skip to main content
Sign In

Students and Alumni

Current Students

The Department of Microbiology is home to a number of graduate students studying everything from small RNA's in viruses or bacteria to seroepidemiology of polyomaviruses and just about everything in-between. Students hail from around the country and from a variety of different backgrounds.

Please use the arrows at the bottom of the table to scroll through our current students.

Attachments
  
  
  
  
  
Christopher.Covey@CUAnschutz.eduVoskuil
  
Abigail.Armstrong@CUAnschutz.eduLozupone
  
Kathleen.Arnolds@CUAnschutz.eduLozupone
  
Jennifer.Berger@CUAnschutz.eduvan Dyk
  
Sarah.Born@CUAnschutz.eduVoskuil
  
Zoe.ODonoghue@CUAnschutz.eduKieft
  
Richardo.Villarreal@CUAnschutz.eduDoran
  
Gabriela.SamayoaReyes@CUAnschutz.eduPoeschla
  
Ari.Simenauer@CUAnschutz.eduCota-Gomez
  
Ashley.Knox@CUAnschutz.eduvan Dyk
  
Casey.Martin@CUAnschutz.eduLozupone
  
Rachel.Neve@CUAnschutz.eduPhelan
  
Francis.Santoriello@CUAnschutz.eduPukatzki
  
Hadrian.Sparks@CUAnschutz.eduBeckham
  
Sarah.Stonedahl@CUAnschutz.eduTyler
  
Norhan.Alhajjar@CUAnschutz.eduDoran
  
Monica.Graham@CUAnchutz.eduBeckham
  
Jonathan.Mendez@CUAnschutz.eduKeestra-Gounder
  
Brendan.Monogue@CUAnschutz.eduBeckham
  
Matthew.Szucs@CUAnschutz.eduKieft
  
Morgan.Brown@CUAnschutz.eduHorswill
  
Joshua.Frost@CUAnschutz.eduTyler
  
Cydney.Johnson@CUAnschutz.eduDuerkop
  
Hailey.Kinsland@CUAnschutz.eduPhelan
  
Haider.Manzer@CUAnschutz.eduDoran
  
Frances.Li@CUAnschutz.eduMorrison
  
Anna.Burnet@CUAnschutz.eduRotating
  
Emma.Culbertson@CUAnschutz.eduRotating
  
Klara.Keim@CUAnschutz.eduRotating
  
Cormac.Lucas@CUAnschutz.eduRotating
1 - 30Next

Alumni

Alumni of the University of Colorado Denver Microbiology Ph.D. Program can be found in research labs and biotech companies around the country. Click an alumnus name to learn more.

Please use the arrows at the bottom of the table to scroll through our alumni.

Attachments
  
  
  
  
  
  
Postdoctoral Fellow –  BostonKen TylerThe intracellular and extracellular innate immune response to flaviviral infection of the central nervous system
  
Postdoctoral Fellow – Colorado State UniversityDohun PyeonDysregulation of the host immune response by the human papillomavirus oncoprotein E7
  
Postdoctoral Fellow –  Rocky Mountain LaboratoriesAndres Vazquez-TorresNucleotide Metabolism in Salmonella Pathogenesis
  
Principle Scientist at Green GenomixMichael SchurrThe Pseudomonas aeruginosa AlgZR two-component system: Expression, responsiveness, control of iron acquisition and impact on virulence
  
Postdoctoral Fellow – Stanford UniversityJeffrey KieftViral Internal Ribosome entry Site (IRES)-Mediated Manipulation of Translation Preinitiaiton Complexes and the Consequences for Non-Canonical Translation
  
Postdoctoral Fellow –  Lab of Virology, Rocky Mountain LaboratoriesTem MorrisonViral and Host Determinants of Chikungunya Virus Persistence
  
Scientist – Sartorius Stedim North America, Inc.J. David BeckhamMTOR Complex 1 regulates translation initiation events of (+)-sense RNA viruses
  
Professional Research Assistant – CU AnschutzEric PoeschlaInvestigating the role of RNA dependent RNA polymerases (RdRp) as an antiviral therapeutic
  
Postdoctoral Fellow – CU BoulderDohun PyeonRoles of Interferon Stimulated Genes in Human Papillomavirus Infection and Cancer Progression
  
Software Developer/Designer Sykes Enterprises, Inc.Mario SantiagoThe Role of APOBEC3 in the Neutralizing Antibody Response to Friend Retrovirus Infection
  
Postdoctoral Fellow - CU AnschutzMario SantiagoThe Role of Tetherin/BST-2 in retroviral infection in vivo
  
Postdoctoral Fellow – University of NevadaDave BartonThe Detection of Ribonuclease Cleavage Sites in Host and viral RNAs during Viral Infections
  
Consultant –  BioMed Bridge, LLCDohun PyeonVirus-host interactions that modulate human papillomavirus infection in human keratinocytes
  
Postdoctoral Fellow –  Icahn School of Medicine at Mount SinaiCaroline KuleszaMolecular Investigation of the MCMV 7.2 kb IncRNA: A Viral Persistence Factor
  
Postdoctoral Fellow –  CU AnschutzCaroline KuleszaPolycomb Repressive Complex 2 & Cytomegalovirus Infection
  
NBBTP Fellow, NIH, National Biosafety and Biocontainment Training ProgramMartin VoskuilThe role of colony variation in stomach colonization by Burkholderia pseudomallei
  
Research Associate –  CU AnschutzMichael SchurrPseudomonas aeruginosa response regulator AlgR modulates rhamnolipid production in a phosphorylation dependent manner.
  
Postdoctoral Fellow –  Pasteur InstituteTem MorrisonIdentification of a viral determinant of virulence in Ross River virus that modulates viral replication and fitness in disparate hosts.
  
HomemakerEd JanoffImpaired Somatic Hypermutation and Activation-Induced Cytidine Deaminase Expression and Function During HIV-1 Infection
  
Postdoctoral Fellow –  CU AnschutzMartin VoskuilMechanisms of M. tuberculosis DNA protection during dormancy
  
Assistant Professor – Platt School of NursingMartin Voskuiltuberculosis DosR regulon and metabolism under oxygen-restricted conditions
  
Professional Research Assistant – CU AnschutzAndres Vazquez-TorresMolecular and functional characterization of the redox active SsrB response regulator in Salmonella pathogenesis
  
Postdoctoral Fellow –  University of Texas Medical BranchAndres Vazquez-TorresDksA-mediated Resistance of Salmonella against Oxidative and Nitrosative Stress
  
Adjunct Faculty (Biology) – Red Rocks Community CollegeKen TylerMechanisms of virus induced motor neuron injury and treatment of viral myelitis
  
Postdoctoral Fellow – CU AnschutzDirk HomannMaturation of T cell memory
  
Returned to Medical School , Resident Physician Internal Med CU AnschutzKen TylerRoles of the Bcl-2 family proteins and the intrinsic pathway in reovirus-induced apoptosis in the central nervous system
  
Research Scientist -   Sharklet Inc.Michael VasilInvestigation of lipid chemotaxis by Pseudomonas aeruginosa
  
Research Associate –  CU AnschutzDave BartonCell Death and Enterovirus Release
  
School - Resident Physician Cincinnati Children’sAmy Barton/Ed JanoffCellular substrates for herpesvirus Us3 and mucosal immunity to Streptococcus pneumoniae
  
Clinical Program Manager - CovidienHau-Chern JanBiology of the lymphotropic polyomavirus
1 - 30Next

Are you a Micrbiology alumnus? We'd love to stay in touch! Please update your information here.

​​
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.