Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Three Minute Talks

Share Your Research in Just 3 Minutes

In 2008, the University of Queensland, Australia, started the first 3-Minute Thesis Competition challenging PhD students to present their research in just three minutes with one standing slide. Meanwhile this enterprise has spread all over the world, and many universities now host such competitions. Now many institutions also invite Master’s students to participate and have therefore adopted other names, such as 3-Minute Project, GradSlam, 3-Minute Talks, etc.

In 2018, the University of Colorado Denver|Anschutz Medical Campus started its first 3-Minute Talk Competition on the Denver Campus, to be followed by an Anschutz Competition and an Intercampus Competition in Spring 2019. The intercampus winner represented the University at the regional competition of the Western Association of Graduate Schools (WAGS) and at the Colorado State-Wide competition that is hosted by the Colorado Council of Graduate Schools (Colorado CGS).

First Statewide Three Minute Talk Competition

Colorado Council of Graduate Schools Three Minute Talks Logo

On April 4, 2019, the Colorado Council of Graduate Schools hosted its 1st Statewide 3-Minute Talk Competition with six presenters from six Colorado Universities. Four judges from local government organizations kindly agreed to serve as judges for this occasion.

Statewide Three Minute Talks Judges and Presenters

2019 Statewide Three Minute Talks Judges and Presenters

We congratulate the winners: Afnan Shazwan Nasaruddin (1st) from Colorado State University, and Luke Bury (2nd) from the University of Colorado Boulder!

Presenters (rear row, left to right)
  • Luke Bury, CU Boulder
  • Afnan Shazwan Nasaruddin, CSU
  • Halley Keevil, School of Mines
  • Keriann Conroy, Western Colorado University
  • Selina Vong, CU Denver
  • Gail Oversteg, Metro State University
Judges (front row, left to right)
  • Thomas Farell, Office of Senator Bennet
  • Dr. Angie Paccione, Executive Director, Colorado Department of Higher Education
  • Steven Emmen, Office of Senator Gardner
  • Arden Parker, Office of Congresswoman DeGette

CU Intercampus Competition Winner

We congratulate Selina Vong from CU Denver for taking 1st place in the CU Denver | Anschutz Medical Campus competition!

Selina Vong

Selina presenting at the CU Denver Competition

CU Anschutz Competition Winners

First Place: Claire Gillette
Second Place: Jaclyn Essig
Third Place: Cris Crisler

CU Denver Competition Winners

First Place: Selina Vong
Second Place: Lucas Ortiz
Third Place: Cecilia Clark
Follow Us On Facebook Logo Twitter Logo

© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.