Skip to main content
Sign In

University of Colorado Denver College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Anthropology Logo
 

Anthropology Department

Faculty & Staff


 

Full-time Faculty

Christopher Beekman , Associate Professor (Ph.D., Vanderbilt University, 1996)

Archaeological Theory and Method, Nonlinear Systems Theory, Mesoamerican Archaeology, Political Systems and Ideology of Rulership, Landscape, Traditional Agriculture; Mesoamerica, esp. West Mexico

Telephone: (303) 556-6040
E-mail: christopher.beekman@ucdenver.edu

John Brett, Associate Professor (Ph.D. University of California Berkeley & San Francisco, 1994)

Nutritional anthropology; microfinance; ethnobotany; evolutionary medicine; evaluation research and methods; Mexico, Andean South America; Southwest U.S.

Telephone: (303) 556-8497
E-mail: john.brett@ucdenver.edu

Sarah Horton

Sarah Horton, Assistant Professor (Ph.D., University of New Mexico, 2003)

Medical anth, globalization, migration and transnationalism; US Latinos, US Southwest, Mexico.

Telephone: (303) 556-6083
E-mail: sarah.horton@ucdenver.edu

Stephen Koester, Professor and Chair  (Ph.D., University of Colorado at Boulder, 1986)

Applied and urban medical anthropology; development and resource management; ubran anthropology; anthropology of drug use; Caribbean; U.S.

Telephone: (303) 556-6795
E-mail: steve.koester@ucdenver.edu

Charles Musiba, Assistant Professor (Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1999)

Paleoanthropology, paleoecology; East Africa.

Telephone: (303) 556-6082
E-mail: charles.musiba@ucdenver.edu

Marty Otanez

Marty Otaez, Assistant Professor (Ph.D., University of California-Irvine, 2004)

Political ecology, visual ethnography, media production, labor studies, health policy, field methods; Southern Africa.

Telephone: (303) 556-6606
E-mail: marty.otanez@ucdenver.edu

Professor Riel-Salvatore

Julien Riel-Salvatore, Assistant Professor (Ph.D., Arizona State University, 2007)

Paleolithic archaeology, hunter-gatherers, Neanderthals, modern human origins, human-environment interactions, lithic analysis; Europe, esp. Italy.

Telephone: (303) 556-2621
E-mail: julien.riel-salvatore@ucdenver.edu

Tammy Stone , Professor (Ph.D., Arizona State University, 1992).

Southwestern archaeology; architecture; aggregation; ethnicity; settlement patterns; non-linear modeling; Southwest US.

Telephone: (303) 556-3063
E-mail: tammy.stone@ucdenver.edu

David P. Tracer, Professor (Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1991)

Biological anthropology; human ecology; nutrition; fertility; adaptation; growth and development; game theory, decision-making; Papua New Guinea

Telephone: (303) 556-6792
E-mail: david.tracer@ucdenver.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Duane Quiatt, Professor (Ph.D., University of Colorado-Boulder, 1966)

Biological anthropology, primatology; evolutionary biology.

Telephone: (303) 556-2676
E-mail: duane.quiatt@ucdenver.edu

 Part-time and Adjunct Faculty

Dave Ruppert (Ph.D. University of Arizona, 1979)

Cultural Anthropology, Southeast Asia, Western United States. Presently Program Manager for Ethnography in the Intermountain Support office of the National Park Service.

E-mail: Dave Ruppert@nps.gov

Jean Scandlyn (Ph.D., Columbia, 1993)

Healing and ritual; community based health care delivery; adolescence; migration; gender and anthropology; North America, Latin America, Southeast Asia.

E-Mail: jean.scandlyn@ucdenver.edu

Tiffany

Tiffany Terneny (Ph.D., U of Texas-Austin, 2005)

South Texas archaeology; historic/prehistoric archaeology; mortuary archaeology; bioarchaeology; osteology; lithic analysis; forensic anthropology.

Telephone: (303) 556-6607
E-mail: tiffany.terneny@ucdenver.edu

Sue Woods (Ph.D., Colorado, 1992).

Biological anthropology; primatology,especially behavior, captive husbandry and enrichment, gorillas and other great apes.

Telephone: (303) 556-2676
E-mail: sue.woods@ucdenver.edu