Skip to main content
Sign In

University of Colorado Denver College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Colorado History Day

National History Day in Colorado

State and National Winners

Congratulations to our 2012 National Winners

72 Colorado kids competed against 3,000 middle and high school students from around the nation at the National History Day contest at the University of Maryland near Washington, D.C. The 72 kids came from around the state: Denver, Boulder, Gunnison, Monument, Alamosa, Pueblo, Olathe and Yoder. The Colorado delegation did well at the national contest:

  • Denver School of the Arts middle school teacher, Barbara Allen, won the prestigious Patricia A. Behring Teacher of the Year award.
  • 2nd Place for Senior Group Performance went to students from Fairview High School--Kali Barnes, Charlie Beckman, Rohith Chintalapally, Jessica Halee and Jack McClellan--for their project entitled "The Salk Vaccine Field Trial.
  • Other Colorado finalists & award winners include:
    • Fairview student, Audrey Hearn's performance: "Remember the Ladies: The Revolution of Feminism in America." Audrey also won "Best in State."
    • Denver School of the Arts middle school student, Ross Snyder's documentary entitled "The Love Canal Crisis: The Revolution of the Creation of Environmental Standards." Ross also won "Best in State."
    • Fairview students--Kyle Kihn, Jacob Kirlan-Stout and Izaak Weiss--for their documentary entitled "The Battle of Blair Mountain"
    • Denver School of the Arts middle school student, Marissa Murdock's performance entitled "Diane Nash: A Revolution Voice for Racial Equality"
    • Gunnison Middle School student, Breanne Barrett's performance on "Rabbit Ears and Mouseketeers: The Mickey Mouse Club Revolution"
    • Denver School of the Arts middle school students--Maia Brockbank, Camryn Daidone, Caroline Martin, Audrey Roberts and Gina Young--for their performance: "Elizabeth Blackwell: Reforming Society Through a Medical Revolution."
    • Will Murphy, Margaret Schaack, Gemma Smith, Eva Touragneau, George Washington High School for their exhibit; "Divide and Conquer: The Immortal Revolution of HeLa Cells"

    Click here for 2012 State Contest Winners! 

Congratulations to our 2011 National Winners

2nd Place, Senior Individual Performance:
Zachary Litner
Boulder, CO, Fairview High School
Teacher(s): Leigh Campbell-Hale
Entry - "Prohibition: Moral Debate, Unexpected Consequences"

3rd Place- Senior Individual Documentary
Clarissa Guy
Denver, CO, Denver School Of The Arts
Teacher(s): Ed Glassman
Entry - "The Nazi Olympics: Diplomacy, Subterfuge, and Debate"

Congratulations to the two Outstanding Entries from Colorado:

Senior Division: (Senior Group Performance)
Andie Lerner, Everett Graham, Tenlie Mourning, Madeline Rita, and Oliver Oglesby
Denver, CO, Denver School of the Arts
Teachers: Barbara Allen and Leni Arnett
Entry: "The Cuban Missile Crisis: 13 Days in the Shadow of Nuclear Warfare"

Junior Division: (Junior Individual Web Site)
Sebastian McCrimmon,
Denver, CO, Hamilton Middle Schools
Teacher: Melissa Cole
Entry: "Unlikely Diplomats: How college basketball players advanced the Civil Rights Movement, integrated sports and opened doors to a college education for all African Americans"

Congratulations to the following Special Awards winners:

Irish or Irish American History
Junior Group Performance
Kayla Cata and Lizzy Manguso
Pueblo, CO, Connect Charter School
Teachers: Tammy Wiley and Judy Mikulas
Entry: "The Molly McGuire: The Rigged Debate"

To see the entire list of winners by state please click here. ​​​