Versions are revisions to the items or files and the properties as stored. This enables you to better manage content as revised and even to restore a previous version. For example, if you make a mistake in the current version, you can go back in time and recover a previous version.
Versioning is a powerful component of a content management system. With it, you can:
- See when an item or file was changed and who changed it. You can also see when properties, or information about the file, were changed. For example, if someone changes the due date of a list item, that information appears in the version history. For files, you also see comments that people include about their changes.
- Restore a previous version as your current version You can easily replace your current version with a previous version. Your current version then becomes part of the version history.
- View a previous version
- You can view a previous version—for example, to refer to a previous guideline—without overwriting your current version.
- Track both major versions, such as those to which a new section was added, and minor versions, such as those in which a spelling error was corrected
Versions are created in the following situations:
- When a list item or file is first created and checked-in or when a file is uploaded.
- When a file is uploaded that has the same name as an existing file and the Add as a new version to existing files check box is selected.
- When the properties of a item or file are changed.
- When a file is opened, edited and saved. A version is created when you first click Save. This version is updated with the latest changes that you make to the file before closing it. A version is not created every time that you or another user clicks Save, because this would create too many versions.
- When a file is checked out, changed and then checked back in.
- And new to SharePoint 2010 is the addition of version history to web parts.
- If you or another user discards the checked-out version, no version is created.