Skip to main content
Sign In

Human Resources

UC Denver - Human Resources
 

Human Resources

HR Staff


HR consists of Employment Services and Compensation; Organizational Relations, Learning & Development; and HR Operations. 

The Employment Services and Compensation team offers consulting services to employees, supervisors and managers who have questions or need assistance with the following:

  • Compensation policy interpretation and application
  • Salary analysis for Officer and Exempt Professional positions
  • Creation, reallocation or recruitment for Classified positions
  • Faculty selection and compensation
  • Requests for exemption, recruitment or waiver for Exempt Professional positions
  • In-range and discretionary pay requests
  • Additional remuneration
  • One time payment requests
  • Review and consultation for personal services contracts (Scope of Work)
  • Separation leave payouts
  • Consultation on Classified retention rights and layoff processes
  • Review of requests for compression and equity increases
  • HRMS use and security access
  • Approval of appointments in the HRMS system for Denver campus
  • Overtime eligibility determination (Fair Labor Standards Act)

 

  • Florie Montoya
    Director of Employment Services
    303-315-2741
    Florie.Montoya@UCDenver.edu

    Selection and compensation consultation and review of positions for exemption or waiver

  • Theresa Anderson
    Sr. Human Resources Consultant
    303-315-2733
    Theresa.Anderson@UCDenver.edu

    Creation, reallocation and recruitment of Classified positions, and Exempt Professional search consultation

  • Juli Christenson
    Human Resources Consultant
    303-315-2737
    Juli.Christenson@UCDenver.edu

    Creation, reallocation and recruitment of Classified positions, and Exempt Professional search consultation

  • Brooke Fitzpatrick
    Sr. Human Resources Consultant
    303-315-2714
    Brooke.Fitzpatrick@UCDenver.edu

    Creation, reallocation and recruitment of Classified positions, and Exempt Professional search consultation

  • Sheri Kalina
    Human Resources Consultant
    303-315-2709
    Sheri.Kalina@UCDenver.edu

    Creation, reallocation and recruitment of Classified positions, and Exempt Professional search consultation

  • Amy Lowell
    Human Resources Consultant
    303-315-2119
    Amy.Lowell@UCDenver.edu

    Creation, reallocation and recruitment of Classified positions, and Exempt Professional search consultation

  • Carlos Miron
    Human Resources Consultant
    303-315-2781
    Carlos.Miron@UCDenver.edu

    Creation, reallocation and recruitment of Classified positions, and Exempt Professional search consultation

  • Ann Shimamoto
    Sr. Human Resources Consultant
    303-315-2722
    Ann.Shimamoto@UCDenver.edu

    Creation, reallocation and recruitment of Classified positions, and Exempt Professional search consultation

Compensation

  • Loan La
    Sr. Human Resources Consultant
    303-315-2734
    Loan.La@UCDenver.edu

    Compensation policy interpretation and application, additional remuneration, security access for HRMS, separation leave payouts, appointment approvals for Denver campus, independent contractor requests (SOW), salary analysis, overtime eligibility (FLSA)

  • Luana Tadolini
    Sr. Human Resources Consultant
    303-315-2723
    Luana.Tadolini@UCDenver.edu

    Compensation policy interpretation and application, additional remuneration, security access for HRMS, separation leave payouts, appointment approvals for Denver campus, independent contractor requests (SOW), salary analysis, overtime eligibility (FLSA)

The Organizational Relations, Learning & Development team offers consulting services, advice, support and referrals to employees, supervisors and managers who have questions or want assistance with the following:

  • Policy and rule interpretation and application
  • Performance management
  • Education and development
  • Management and Organizational Consulting
  • Exempt Professional search processes
  • Communication efforts
  • Employee recognition
  • Managing leave including Family Medical Leave
  • Workplace violence, harassment and other forms of discrimination investigations
  • Classified staff grievances
  • Progressive discipline including corrective actions and disciplinary actions for classified staff
  • At-will terminations
  • Unemployment hearings
  • Employment rights including equal employment opportunity and affirmative action

Supervisors should contact an Organizational Relations consultant prior to beginning the progressive discipline process, responding to a classified staff grievance or when considering termination of an at-will employee.

  • Doug Kasyon
    Director of Organizational Relations, Learning & Development
    303-315-2740
    Doug.Kasyon@UCDenver.edu

    Review and approval of all at-will terminations (Exempt Professional and Faculty including PRAs)

  • Richard Benson
    Sr. Human Resources Consultant
    303-315-2738
    Richard.Benson@UCDenver.edu

    Employee Recognition

  • Shelly Crowley
    Sr. Human Resources Consultant
    303-315-2052
    Shelly.Crowley@UCDenver.edu

    New Employee Orientation

  • Brad Mathers
    Sr. Human Resources Consultant
    303-315-0264
    Brad.Mathers@UCDenver.edu

    Performance management

  • Greg Rowe
    Principal Human Resources Consultant
    303-315-2739
    Greg.Rowe@UCDenver.edu

    Unemployment hearings, FML and all leave-related matters

  • Melissa Luna
    Employment Rights Compliance & Investigation Manager
    303-315-2724
    Melissa.Luna@UCDenver.edu

    EEOC Compliance, Disability Accomodations, Complaints of Sexual Harassment, Discrimination, etc.

  • Anthony Antuna
    Sexual Harassment Investigator
    303-315-2730
    Anthony.Antuna@UCDenver.edu

     

The HR Operations unit is responsible for personnel files, handling records legal requests, partnering with PBS on compliance, employment verifications, personnel file maintenance, I-9 compliance and record maintenance, background checks, exempt professional file maintenance, data entry for applicant equal employment opportunity data, maintenance of state classified, exempt professional and faculty job postings, records auditing, and updating and maintaining the Human Resources web site.

  • Kaylene McCrum
    Director of HR Operations
    303-315-2728
    Kaylene.McCrum@UCDenver.edu

    HR operations, faculty phased retirements, recognition/award program approvals, and temporary appointments

  • Hannah Bandle
    Human Resources Assistant
    303-315-2742
    Hannah.Bandle@UCDenver.edu

    New Employee Orientation, training and website maintenance

  • Judy Cooper
    Human Resources Assistant
    303-315-2711
    Judy.Cooper@UCDenver.edu

    Employment verifications and personnel file maintenance

  • Kayla Grayson
    Human Resources Assistant
    303-315-0182
    Kayla.Grayson@UCDenver.edu

    Background Checks and PMRs

  • Ari Liston
    Student Assistant
    303-315-2752
    Ari.Liston@UCDenver.edu

    Domestic I-9's

  • Stephanie Perez
    Human Resources Assistant
    303-315-2719
    Stephanie.Perez@UCDenver.edu

    Hiring processes for university staff/exempt, honorarium processing, and International I-9s

  • Duane Trantham
    Human Resources Assistant
    303-315-2708
    Duane.Trantham@UCDenver.edu

    Hiring processes for faculty, and job postings