Skip to main content
Sign In


The generosity and dedication of our donors enables the Department of Medicine to improve patient care, provide leadership in medical education, and make exciting strides in many areas of research. As the largest of the 24 departments in the School of Medicine, we now have about 680 faculty (including 112 PhDs and 25 M.D./PhDs), 165 residents, and 120 fellows. Our Division of Pulmonary Sciences and Critical Care is ranked Number One by U.S. News and World Report, and many of our 14 Divisions are well on their way to the Top 10.

According to Department Chair, David Schwartz, M.D., “I believe that medicine is at one of those inflection points, where we have the opportunity to take a great leap forward. That great leap will bring together molecular science and genetics, basic research and clinical practice, and the latest technologies for collecting and analyzing patient information in order to move us toward an era of more targeted, personalized medicine. That can only be done at large medical centers with collaborative, forward-thinking leaders who are willing to take risks and invest in paradigm-shifting ideas. This is that place.”

Your gift to the Department of Medicine will allow us to continue our commitment to innovation and excellence.

For the opportunity to contribute to the Department, please click here.  



We depend on our friends - philanthropic individuals and foundations - to aid us in our commitment to biomedical research. We gratefully acknowledge the many donors who have contributed more than $64,300,000 for 27 Endowed Chairs that reside in the Department of Medicine. In addition, Department of Medicine faculty hold 10 Endowed Chair positions in which the endowment is managed outside the Department (Cancer Center, Webb-Waring Institute, Colorado Prevention Center), enabling us to pursue new understanding and treatment of diseases that are afflicting millions of Americans.

To learn more about endowments in the Department of Medicine, please click here.